2021 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2021 Outstanding Researcher Awards Recipients!

Each year, the Eastern Nursing Research Society proudly recognizes valuable contributions and excellence in nursing research as demonstrated by ENRS members.

Distinguished Contributions to Nursing Research Award is given annually in recognition of sustained and outstanding contributions to nursing research by a Senior Investigator. The Awards Committee is proud to honor Tonda L. Hughes, PhD, RN, FAAN, Henrik H. Bendixen Professor of International Nursing, Professor of Nursing (in Psychiatry), Associate Dean for Global Health Columbia University Medical Center, with the 2021 Distinguished Contributions to Nursing Research Award.

Suzanne Feetham Nurse Scientist Family Research Award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions by a Junior Investigator (earned a doctorate in last 7 years with a developing program of family research and scholarship) OR Senior investigator (has a well-established program of family research and scholarship). The Awards Committee is proud to honor Kim Mooney-Doyle, PhD, RN, CPNP-AC, Assistant Professor, Department of Family and Community Health University of Maryland, School of Nursing, with the 2021 Suzanne Feetham Nurse Scientist Family Research Award.

ENRS Evidence-Based Practice Award is given to an individual or a nurse-led group using research-based evidence to make a practice change that results in a demonstrated improvement in outcomes for the patient and family, staff, community, or organization. The Evidence-Based Practice Award is designed to encourage the use of best practices to improve the safety and quality of patient care or the improvement of patient care systems. The Awards Committee is proud to honor Margaret McCabe, RN, PhD, FAAN, Director, Center of Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, with the 2021 Evidence-Based Practice Award.

ENRS/Nursing Research Authorship Award recognizes an ENRS member who disseminated research findings, or important theoretical, or methodological advances in the official ENRS Journal, Nursing Research, within the previous year. The Awards Committee is proud to honor Ann-Margaret Navarra, PhD, CPNP-PC, FAAN Assistant Professor, New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, with the 2021 ENRS/Nursing Research Authorship Award.

Rising Star ResearchAward recognizes a Junior Investigator that has shown promise in establishing a program of health and/or nursing research. The Awards Committee is proud to honor Shelli L. Feder, PhD, APRN, FNP-C, ACHPN, Assistant Professor, Yale School of Nursing with the 2021 Rising Star Research Award.

ENRS/Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science (CANS) Dissertation Award is given annually to a doctoral candidate enrolled in a program of nursing that awards a research doctoral degree requiring a dissertation. The Awards Committee is proud to honor Dora Lendvai Wischik, MSN, RN, PhD Candidate, Class of 2022, Yale School of Nursing, Jonas Nursing and Veterans Healthcare Scholar, Yale Center for Clinical Investigation Multidisciplinary Pre-Doctoral Training Program in Translational Research Trainee, with 2021 ENRS/Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science (CANS) Dissertation Award.

Congratulations to the Recipients of the 2021 Inaugural President’s Awards for Outstanding Service!

This award is given in recognition and appreciation for the commitment and dedicated service to the Eastern Nursing Research Society.


Dr.Victoria Vaughan Dickson, PhD, RN, FAHA, FHFSA, FAAN, Associate Professor and Director of the Pless Center for Nursing Research at New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing

Dr. Dickson has been an ENRS leader for over 10 years, including Chronic Co-Morbidities Research Interest Group (RIG) member and Chair, Treasurer, President-Elect, President, and as Past-President in her current role as Nominations Chair. Beyond these roles, Dr. Dickson has been a tireless champion for ENRS as well as a role model and mentor for researchers at all career stages. During her Presidency, she demonstrated strong, visionary leadership, making difficult decisions and acting quickly to sustain our organization through challenging times, including a change in management companies and the need to cancel our in-person conference last year in Boston due to COVID-19. ENRS not only survived these potentially devastating events, but it also grew and it prospered. We congratulate Dr. Victoria Vaughan Dickson for her outstanding service to ENRS.

Dr. Rosanna DeMarco, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor & Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at the University of Massachusetts Boston, College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Dr. DeMarco has been an ENRS leader since 2007, first as a member of Family/Community Based Participatory RIG, then Member at Large for the RIGs, President-Elect, President, Past President/Nominations Committee Chair, and now Organizational Development Committee Chair. One of the hallmarks of Dr. DeMarco’s Presidency was her commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. At every meeting, she would say about ENRS, “We have a big tent and there is enough room for everyone under that tent.” Moreover, her actions were even stronger than her words in promoting DEI. Dr. DeMarco is visionary, creative, and incredibly generous with her Time, Talent, and Treasury when it comes to ENRS. As the current Organizational Development Committee Chair, she has worked with Board Liaison Dr. Donna Nickitas, the committee members, and the ACG team to create our new Annual Partnership Program with yearlong benefits and plan strategic research initiatives that will advance DEI in our organization. We recognize Dr. Rosanna DeMarco for her outstanding contributions to ENRS.